^Back To Top

foto1 foto2 foto3 foto4 foto5

Get Adobe Flash player

Wollega University, Ghimbi Campus was established in 2009. At i ts inception, it was called Social Sciences College. It started working by opening five departments; namely, Department of Civic and Ethical Studies, Geography and Environmental Studies, History and Heritage Management, Political Science and International Relations, Sociology and Social Anthropology. The college started the teaching learning processes with 541 students, 18 academic staff and 59 administrative support staff.  In 2015, the number of departments became seven by incorporating Department of Social Work and Department of Governance and Development Studies.

Continuing its expansion, in 2016, the campus was reorganized into three faculties (Social Sciences Faculty, Natural and Environmental Faculty and Finance and Development Faculty) which embraced 19 undergraduate and 7 postgraduate programs.  .