Back To Top

foto1 foto2 foto3 foto4 foto5

Wollega University

djWollega University is one of the public higher educational institutions established at Nekemte in 2007. It is located 331 km West of Addis Ababa at the outskirt of Nekemte town on the 150 hectares of land surrounded by evergreen forest and natural scenery of landscape, and spectacular view of mount Komto. At present, the University, runs 47 undergraduate, and 5 graduate programs in three different campuses at Nekemte, Gimbi and Shambu towns. WU is an innovative institution and a pioneer University to introduce continuous assessment, student centered & active learning in the teaching-learning arena to revolutionarize the traditional methods of teaching by promoting the communicative teaching approach and fully implementing the continues assessment technique. Today, WU is a comprehensive University engaged in the provision of all rounded education, research and community service.

Telephone: +576617980


Get Adobe Flash player

Following the new restructuring and merging of various units of Wollega University, the institution came to take its present shape and nomenclature in March 2014. Institute of Language Studies and Journalism is one of a very few colleges established with the emergence of Wollega University in 2007 by the name “School of Language Studies and Journalism”. After enrolling some nationally placed students, the college became functional with some programs. Following the restructuring of Wollega University which took place in 2003E.C, the institute has got the name “College of Social Sciences and Education”. Then in 2006 E.C, it is named “Institute of Language studies and Journalism” once more. Until 2006, it embeds three departments and two schools: namely, Department of Language Studies and Literature, Department of Journalism and Communication, Department of Oromo Language and Art Studies, School of Law, and School of Education. However, the schools have been departed and the institution now incorporates Continuing Education Program and its own Registrar in addition to the three departments (Department of Language Studies and Literature, Department of Journalism and Communication, Department of Oromo Language and Art Studies). Under all of the departments, there are various programs in both under graduate and post graduate (MA in TEFL and MA in Oromo Language and Literature) studies. The main office of Institute of Language Studies and Journalism is located on the 2ndfloor of the Institute’s Building (Rm. 15/B047) in the main campus of the University, Nekemte just nearer to the second gate.